OSMC + Pi2 + USB tv tuner

Hey all,

First off I’ve never actually used a Pi before, or Linux as a matter of fact, but I’ve found a guide on how to install Raspbmc (I assume OSMC set up is the same), but my question is does osmc support tv tuners/installation of tv tuner drivers. (I have purchased just a generic cheap tuner from ebay)

Sorry if this is a silly question as I have no experience with the platform, while I like kodi streams I would like live dvb-t tv.

Kind regards,
Froob

Yes ,-) you can use USB tuners… i do it my self with a DVB-C USB tuner… but not all hardware is supportet… and the software (tvheadend) that is used is not working yet… but will do soon ;-).

you can check out Tvheadend on google and search in the forum…

Hi Froobage/OSMCers,

I just found your question via google and I was wondering how you got on with your generic tuner from ebay? I dont want to spend silly money on a tuner, as it maybe more trouble than its worth in the long run. I was looking at something like the following:

Cheap and cheerful though or waste of time on a RPi2 ?!

Hi liamoncond,

It’s hard to know witch work and don’t, just by looking at the specs, we need hardware ID/product ID the chip can also help, and this is info they don’t say on shop pages.

The ID’s is uniq to linux so it have to be plugin to a linux computer to see.

maybe you can find someone via google that reports the hardware ID+, or find more info here:
http://www.linuxtv.org

There is also the chance you can finde another tuner model that a OSMC user confirms work, and buy that.

see more here:
https://discourse.osmc.tv/search?q=dvb-t

-H

Harry L,