OSMC + Samba NAS on my Raspberry Pi 2+?

Hey !

I am kinda new with Raspberry just ordered it yesterday. I have some
free times during holidays and as an engineering student, I want to try
cool things !

Today, I have a Samsung Television and my PC. Each time I wanna see a
movie with friends on the TV, I have to plug / play USB Stick.

Is it possible to use the RaspBerry Pi as a media Center AND also NAS ?
Like:
-For the NAS: R-Pi NAS - eLinux.org
-And OSMC for media center ?

In that way, I could transfer all my movies / series into my 1Tb HD plugged in my RPi and also watch it from OSMC ?

As Iā€™m kinda new to this world I donā€™t want to flash my RPi with bad manipulation :confused:

Oh, and one last question, if this architecture is good. Do you
think it is possible to use it like a ā€œreal NASā€ ? For instance : watch a
movie on TV. Then switch on a computer and resume at the time I paused
on TV ?

Thanks !

You can use OSMC itself for NAS functionality. There is a Samba server in the OSMC ā€˜App storeā€™ and thatā€™ll do what you want.

For instance i plug a hard drive directly into my Pi and play my films from there but also i can read/write to this hard drive from the PC on my network.

That is so cool ! :wink:

Do you have any benchmarks for reading / writing file with this NAS functionality ? Like what is the working time for c/c a 8Gb film to HDD via OSMC NAS ?

Also, is there any possibility to use OSMC from a PC ?
Like the example I gave : playing a movie on TV, stopping at 30mn, resuming on PC at 30mn ?

Itā€™s slow as hell but thatā€™s more down to the Piā€™s network implementation than OSMC i.e. itā€™s be slow on any Pi distribution.