Play home videos from local NAS

Hello, sorry I am a newbie here used to Windows (sorry for that). A have Vero V mostly used with an add on to play vidoes from a web server and it works 100% fine.
BUT, I would like to use the intenal player also to play my (mostly) home videos stored on local NAS. Is there a simple way to just map the folder and play the videos from the folder? I mean I googled a lot about the recomended mounting of nfs, finetuning the setting both on NAS and the client and after a few days succeeded in +/- mounting it. But then it ended up on the unexpected requirements create a library in Kodi with required naming conventions of all the videos which I am not able to do. So can I somehow just go to a mapped videofolder and play a selected file (as in windows)? The videos are mostly UHDs in H.264 but I do not seem to make them play (or even apper). Thank you

You don’t need to use the library mode - that’s only if you want metadata like descriptions and artwork

For home movies, or any content that doesn’t have entries in scrapers you have the option to either not use a library, or else manually make files that contain the metadata that would allow it to show up in the library in the movie or TV sections.

The easy path is to just add the source but don’t configure the content type/configure the scraper. When you want to watch something you would just go to videos>files>[your source] and play from there. If you want a bit more direct path and/or setup a few different top level folders for easy access you can navigate to the folder you want in videos>files and then context menu>add to favorites which will put that location in the favorites top level menu (assuming you have your skin configured to show that menu item). Some skins will also let you configure a top level menu item for that path as well but how you would go about doing that is specific to the skin your using.