Power settings with External Drive

First time Vero 4k+ user and a complete noob when it comes to anything Kodi. I’ve finally parted ways with my old WDTV Live boxes cause they just handle any of the newer files. I’m really loving the 4K+.

My first of many questions is:

When I turn off my Vizio 4K TV, I assume that the Vero box stays on (no red light), but I notice that my external hard drive that is connected to the Vero box still is powered on. I would like the Vero box to go into some kind of standby or off and shutdown the external hard drive also. Then when I turn my TV on, I would like to be able to turn on Vero box with remote which would also power the external drive back on too.

I’ve looked at the different options under the “POWER” menu option, but not sure which one to use.

Can someone explain what each one does?

1. Exit
  2. Power Off System
  3. Suspend
  4. Reboot
  5. Custom Shutdown Timer
  6. Settings = DON’T NEED THIS ONE EXPLAINED

Thanks

The Vero is designed to be always on. When you shut off the TV, the drive should spin down after a period of inactivity.

There is a Standby mode where the Vero goes into a semi-hibernate mode. That’s Suspend in the Power menu.

The Power menu options do this:

Exit = Stop Kodi. It will restart after 10 seconds
Power Off = Power off the Vero. You must unplug it from mains and plug it back in to turn it on again.
Suspend = Hibernate
Reboot = Reboot the system
Shutdown TImer = Shutdown (poweroff) after a set time.

My recommendation would be to leave the Vero on. If the drive is not spinning down after 10 or so minutes then it’s because something i s still accessing it. If you post logs we should be able to help you find the cause of that.