Problem accessing files (MAC) to RP2

Hello everyone,

I’m new in the RP2/osmc community and i have some kind of a problem : i’m not able to access any of my shared folders (videos,music etc.) stored on my mac - yosemite OS - from my newly bought Raspberry Pi 2.

My mac is connected to the internet by WiFi (provided by my internet box) and my RP directly on my box with ethernet.

I’ve tried searching them with NFS protocol. Some of the shared folders appears - only those stored directly on my mac, and not my external HDD connected to it - but OSMC doesn’t recognize any of the files in them (it looks as if they’re empty).

Then, I tried using smb and it was worse. OSMC recognizes my mac (on the “workgroup”) but when i trie to enter into it, OSMC gives me this error message “operation not permitted”.

Do you have any ideas where the problem can be ?

Thank you for your answer and sorry for my English…but i’m French :wink:

Are the SMB shares on your Mac password protected? Is your Mac set up to export the folders from the Ext. HDD with NFS?

When exporting a folder you want to work well with Kodi, try using insecure flag.

Example:

/mnt/Main 192.168.1.0/24(rw,sync,no_subtree_check,insecure

Kodi can have a lot of problems with NFS shares if that flag is not used when exporting them.

It seems that SMB shares on my Mac are password protected, but i’m not that sure. In “system preferences” it is written something about it but i don’t even know where or how i can change that. I can activate or disactivate SMB shares for my mac or a specific profil but that’s all.

Concerning NFS shares, again, i don’t know how i can set up my Mac to export folders with NFS from my HDD. The thing is that, as i said in my previous post, i can only access ton the folders on my mac with NFS (i mean, not on my HDD but directly on my Mac) but OSMC doesn’t recognize any files in them anyway.