Problem Mapping a button in LIRC, Lircmap.xml and remote.xml

Hi guys, this is my first time posting here so first of all thank you for all the help I’ve got from these forums upto date! Secondly I’m relatively new to OSMC and even Linux but am learning and loving it, so go easy on me.

My goal in short:

To map a favourites button on my remote to bring up the favourites menu in OSMC. (I believe it’s possible)

What I’ve got:

I have an old remote from a cable box (made my Cisco I believe) which I’m using with my rpi2 via a GPIO IR receiver I pulled from the same cable box. I couldn’t find any .conf files for it so I’ve “recorded” the remote and all basic buttons work great. There is a “fav” button on the remote that I’d like to bring up the favourites menu on OSMC which is where I’m stuck.

What I’ve done so far:

I’ve recorded the favourites button when recording the remote so I have a line in my .conf file as below:

KEY_FAVORITES 0x129D

(There is a couple of different spellings of favourites / favorites I’ve noticed, when recording the remote its favorites but in OSMC It’s spelt favourites, with the U)

If I run IRW And press the “fav” button on my remote I’ll get:

16c 0 KEY_FAVORITES linux-input-layer
16c 0 KEY_FAVORITES_UP linux-input-layer

I’ve copied my Lircmap.xml file to /home/osmc/.kodi/userdata/

I’ve added a favourites line to that file under the Linux-input-layer, part of it as below:

<remote device="linux-input-layer">
        <altname>cx23885_remote</altname>
                <left>KEY_LEFT</left>
                <right>KEY_RIGHT</right>
                <up>KEY_UP</up>
                <down>KEY_DOWN</down>
                <favourites>KEY_FAVORITES</favourites>

I’ve copied my remote.xml file to /home/osmc/.kodi/userdata/

I’ve added a favourites line to that file under the first global section as below:

<keymap>
  <global>
    <remote>
      <play>PlayPause</play>
      <pause>Pause</pause>
      <stop>Stop</stop>