Problem with external USB drive samba sharing

Hi all. I have an ATV1 with crystalbuntu installed. I’m not very familiar with linux. Using the terminal app on my mac, I successfully edited the smb.conf file to share my drive using the following lines:
[global]
workgroup = CH
usershare allow guests = yes
security = share
follow symlinks = yes
wide links = yes
unix extensions = no
lock directory = /var/cache/samba
[NHD2TBHFSP1]
path = /media/NHD2TBHFSP1
available = yes
read only = no
browsable = yes
public = yes
writable = yes
guest ok = yes
force user = atv

My drive shows up on the network. However, I only have read access. I’ve attempted to write to the drive using a mac running El Capitan as well as with a PC running windows 10 but have been unsuccessful using both platforms. Any help with this issue would be greatly appreciated.

I’m a bit of a noob, but I would maybe try ssh in to device with terminal and type

sudo chmod 777 /media/NHD2TBHFSP1

note I am a raspberry pi user but the linux command should still work I think.
I am sure there are probably reasons not to grant permissions to everyone like this so maybe wait to see some other advice?? Or give it a try… up to you :smile:

also, off topic (sorry mods), but how is windows 10? easy to use?

I’m having kind of the same problem, I wrote about it in this thread: thread.

For me it looks like osmc isn’t setting up the correct group and guest permissions for the external drive.

When I try to chmod the drive, it fails with a weird error message I forgot.

I’m currently formatting my drive from exFat to ext4 to see if that is the reason the permissions aren’t set correctly. (You read a lot of self-contradictory stuff if you google long enough…). Time will show if the permission errors still appear - I’ll report back then.

what was the weird error?

Tried that, here’s what was returned:
chmod: changing permissions of ’ /media/NHD2TBHFSP1 ’ : Read-only file system