Problem with OpenVPN set up on Vero 4K

I have recently joined up to this forum after struggling to set up OpenVPN on my Vero 4k box.

I have been trawling through numerous forum posts and tutorials over the last few days, including the Brian Hornsby guide, but cannot seem to get my Vero box set up correctly to connect to my VPN, I am using Private Internet Access.

When I run OpenVPN, after selecting a connection it just constantly says “RECONNECTING” and system Info shows my usual IP address.

I am not too technically minded, and was unfamiliar with using programs like Putty and Filezilla beforehand. I believe I have followed the Brian Hornsby guide correctly, but I obviously must be doing something wrong, and would be extremely grateful for any help.

error(s) I get during test using Putty

My .ovpn file

OpenVPN settings - /usr/sbin/openvpn, Management IP 127.0.0.1, Port 1337
In “script”, I have “Use sudo when running OpenVPM” checked and “password” unchecked

Fortunately, you seem to have got past the learning curve.
It looks like there might be some certificate errors there. Do the files vpn-config/crl.pem and vpn-config/ca.crt exist?

I’d recommend reuploading these files.

Thanks for the extremely fast response.

Here is a screenshot of vpn-config folder and contents. ca.crt & crl.pem are there along with pass.text which I added.

I will try re-uploading the files like you suggest.

Let me know how that goes. I’m not familiar with PIA but I know a few other users have this running; so they may be able to chime in and help you better than I can

Sam

I have re-uploaded the ca.crt & crl.pem files.
I did notice straight away that the .pem file size is different from the original file downloaded onto my laptop so maybe there was an error when copying this file to my Vero box.

When I now select a connection in OpenVPN it does say “CONNECTED” but only for a minute or two.