Python script for 60s Diner Wallbox as Controller

Hey there,
i’m new to phyton and still relatively new to osmc so please be forgiving if i ask stupid questions :slight_smile:
I have a Seeburg Consolette Wallbox (kind of a remote for an old vinyl jukebox) which is connected to my raspberry pi (i got my inspiration and huge parts of my python code from this project here: http://wallbox.weebly.com)
The python script i’m working on polls the GPIO Pins from my raspberry Pi 2 for a signal and interprets these signals (electric pulses) into a selection (A1, B4…V8, etc.) that has been made on the wallbox. Then the raspberry should start playing the mp3 file. I managed to get this done within raspbian with mpg321 but now want to do this with kodi as mp3 player instead.
Here’s the part of the code i used to start the mp3 with mpg321 in raspbian:

def play_song(track):
print “Playing Track %s” % track
global ACTIVE_PROCESS
if ACTIVE_PROCESS:
ACTIVE_PROCESS.terminate()
ACTIVE_PROCESS = subprocess.Popen([“mpg321”, “/Music/Jukebox/%s.mp3” % track])

I checked the web and found out that there is a xbmc module which could work but that i have to run the python script within kodi.
Can anyone help me with the line to play the mp3 file and tell me how to run the script in kodi?

Thanks in advance!

You should probably ask this question on the kodi forums, as it’s not really OSMC related (other than the coolness to hooking the Wallbox to the Pi :wink: )

It’s been a while since I played with Kodi plugins, but looking at your code I can tell that you are not telling Kodi to play the file, you are trying to start another process to play the file. You need to tell Kodi to play the file instead. Look on the kodi site about how to develop a plugin for more info.

Good luck with your project!