Run shell script via keymap

Hi. I’m looking for a steer in the right direction if possible, rather than support to help me achieve this.

Currently, I have my vpn running 24/7 but need to disable it for certain addons. Ideally this process would be automated as an addon opens/ closes, but I don’t know if that’s possible. So, I’d like to create a shell script that I can map to a button press, which would start/stop my openvpn instance - the equivalent of SSHing into Vero and issuing systemctl start/ stop openvpn

I’ve tried creating a script using notepad++:

#! /bin/bash
sudo systemctl stop openvpn
(this works via command line with bash /path/to/script.sh)

…then map this script to a button press in keyboard.xml using RunScript (path/to/script.sh), but nothing happens.

Having done some digging on osmc and other forums I have a feeling I’d need to write a python script (about which I have no knowledge currently), but it would be really helpful to know if this is even possible first, before wasting a lot more time on this. Thank you!

Did a little addon a while back, that point you into the right direction. Before I updated it for v.19, it actually just started a shell script.

Else I would suggest you checkout:

Thank you - really helpful!

The “runscript” Kodi action is only for python, not bash. The Kodi action for bash scripts is “system.exec”. That being said, although the Kodi keymap wiki would indicate that all three of these button mappings would produce the same notification…

~$ cat say_hello.sh
#! /bin/bash
kodi-send -a "Notification(Hello, World,5000)"

~$ cat say_hello.py
import os
os.system('kodi-send -a "Notification(Hello, World,5000)"')

~$ cat say_hello_from_sh.py
import os
os.system("bash /home/osmc/say_hello.sh")

~$ cat .kodi/userdata/keymaps/hello.xml
<keymap>
  <global>
    <keyboard>
      <p>System.Exec(/home/osmc/say_hello.sh)</p>
      <p mod="ctrl">runscript(/home/osmc/say_hello.py)</p>