Sad face after updating, not sure how to get logs?

Hey guys … I believe I ran an update for OSMC a few days ago – the same update that’s worked successfully multiple times – and then I stopped using the thing for a couple days. When I went back to the proper input on my TV to use it today, there was nothing on the screen. After checking all connections, it was unresponsive so I removed power, plugged it back in and got a sad face screen that kept resetting. I’m not sure where to go from here.

The sticky says to enable debugging for logs, but I can’t get back into it to actually do that so I’m not sure where to go from here. I am a huge noob so please be specific (for instance, people talk about doing terminal stuff and I don’t even know how to get there).

Thanks.

Try the manual update recovery by holding ctrl-shift while booting.

At first I was worried because I use a wireless keyboard that it wouldn’t work, but it took me to a screen. Then I realized it wasn’t recognizing my wireless internet adapter, so I had to switch to wired. Restarted again and held shit+crtl and now I’m sitting at a blue screen that says “Updating the list of available OSMC packages …” but has been here for about five minutes now. Would that be done by now or am I supposed to wait longer?

Thanks for the reply.

It can be a little time consuming on Pi, particularly B model. Give it about 30 min.

Did it ever boot back to Kodi?

It did not, unfortunately. I am still looking at that same screen.

What screen?

When you reboot, what do you see, can you take a photo?

• Can you login via SSH?
  • Failing that, can you ping the device?

Sam

Hi – currently, I see “OSMC Update – Updating the list of available OSMC packages …” and on the bottom left it says that I successfully set time using the HTTP query, started LSB, NTP daemon, reached the target multi-user system and the target graphical interface.