Segfault while building from Debian (mmap denied)

hi i’m experiencing a segfault from “internal compiler” while building mediacenter-osmc for rbp2
here’s a few info and build trace

uname -a result :
linux rpibuild 5.10.0-11-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 5.10.92-1 (2022-01-18) x86_64 GNU/Linux
lsb_release -a :
Distributor ID: Debian
Description: Debian GNU/Linux 11 (bullseye)
Release: 11
Codename: bullseye

I have no idea why mmap fails …

thank you for help !

I’m no expert but I see references to Bullseye and amd64, neither are supported by OSMC.

Building on target hardware is the best option.

Thank you for answer !
Well, knowing that anyway, osmc building process uses qemu to build for target, even if you actually build ON target…I thought it was better to use my comp to build faster ^^
I guess I’ll give it one more try but building on my raspberry pi 3+ failed many times, freezing …after hours of work :frowning:

Thank you for answer !
Do you mean that I can’t built osmc on amd64 Bullseye ? I guess i can try with a Buster VM …

We don’t use QEMU if you build on target.

It’s a pass through. If the arch matches, it’s not used.

1 Like

ok ! happy to know that. Do you agree with building with rbp2 option for a raspberry pi 3+ then ?
I tried last night and it froze at

`[ 21%] Built target gameaddons
[ 21%] Building CXX object build/filesystem/CMakeFiles/filesystem.dir/Directory.cpp.o
[ 21%] Building CXX object build/games/addons/input/CMakeFiles/gameinput.dir/GameClientJoystick.cpp.o
[ 21%] Building CXX object build/filesystem/CMakeFiles/filesystem.dir/DirectoryFactory.cpp.o
[ 21%] Building CXX object build/games/addons/input/CMakeFiles/gameinput.dir/GameClientKeyboard.cpp.o
[ 21%] Building CXX object build/filesystem/CMakeFiles/filesystem.dir/DirectoryHistory.cpp.o
[ 21%] Building CXX object build/games/addons/input/CMakeFiles/gameinput.dir/GameClientMouse.cpp.o
[ 21%] Building CXX object build/filesystem/CMakeFiles/filesystem.dir/DllLibCurl.cpp.o