Set up openvpn to use private VPN service dns server on connect

Hello there and i wish for all of you a Happy and Healthy New Year!!!

I tried for over a month now and i have read almost everything in this forum to achieve that i want to do. I’m sorry if the answer is in a topic but i am a noob as when it come to linux and i am happy to already have learned some basic stuff.

I use osmc latest version on a raspberry pi3, Brian Hornsby’s VPN client, and i have Joakim_Sandstrom’s Chromium installed so that i can check for dns leaks, when i connect to a server through ssh.

I already configured ovpn files so that can work with Brian Hornsby’s VPN client, and changed the openvpn path in the client. everything fine up to here.

The think is that i want to use my vpn service private dns server when i connect to a server and my isp’s or whatever when i am not.

I want that to be done automatically.

I have manual (not dhcp) setup a local lan ip with my isp’s dns through My OSMC lan config.

I have read that i can use the up and down script of the openvpn update-resolve-conf but it doesn’t work when i put it in my ovpn files because the paths in osmc is different.

What can i do, can anyone please help me here? what changes do i have to do? i have read that i have to edit some files… which files?

To be honest i don’t want to just do it, i want to understand why i am doing it so i can learn from someone that is kind to help me…

Edit: i removed the name of the vpn service i had write here, because i am not affiliated with them and it is not proper to refer to them…

Ok, suddenly i found a way to do what i want…

BUT i need a little help and information in order to make as i want, a complete newbie tutorial for those who have below basic experience in linux… so that they don’t wonder around many posts and sites, but in the other hand maybe the should do , it helped me learn stuff…