Setting up a Pi3 as a Media Center (with FreeSat as well)

Hi all,

I have recently purchased a Pii3 (I have the orginal Pii as well). One thought I have for it is as a media center to watch and record live tv (via free sat).

I have currently an old PC configured with Media Portal and dual satellite card (with 2 satellite feeds) to do this,(Sorry if I am using the wrong phases but I am fairly new to this.)

My hope / goal is to somehow use the Pi3 to replace or add to this exisiting system. So that :-

I can watch / pause live freesat feeds.
Record programs / films etc.
and all the usual stuff a media center can do.

Can OSMC (or Kodi itself) do this?

Reading other forums I get the impression it can, however most people seem to use OSMC / kodi to access prerecorded programs or watch film/programs via ip streams (which is useful however is secondary for myself)

Can anyone give me a link or advise of how OSMC/kodi can do this.

Anyhow this is my first post so pls be kind!

You can install TVHeadend and buy a DVB-S2 tuner and then you can watch Freesat on it

Cheers for that, I found a post about it on a kodi wiki. I’ll investigate it.

The tvheadend server is available in the OSMC app store. So the only thing you need is a compatible USB stick and then check how to configure the sat channels.
Using the Kodi client then is the easiest step.

Hi cheeseman

Here’s list of compatible USB dvb-s2 tuners

https://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/DVB-S2_USB_Devices

I’m using a tevii s660 working great on freesat. Haven’t tried recording on it yet but should work.