Setting up wifi

Hi, I am new to osmc and relatively new to the Raspberry Pi. I am running an original Raspberry Pi B which is connected by ethernet, but have been trying to get it to work with an Edimax EW-7811UN wifi usb dongle so that I can move it to another location in the house.

I am running osmc having installed it via Noobs. grep VERSION_ID /etc/os-release gives me
VERSION_ID="2016.05-1"

ifconfig shows an entry for wlan0 however I have been unable to get this to successfully connect to my rounter using either the GUI or the command line, so I’d really appreciate some nudges in the right direction.

In the GUI my attempts to connect fail after entering my password. So I have tried to configure this on the command line. After checking other relevant threads here that has taken me as far as using connmanctl as follows.

> connmanctl connmanctl> scan wifi Scan completed for wifi connmanctl> services *AO Wired ethernet_b827eb66d693_cable VM419252-2G wifi_74da386c77f2_564d3431393235322d3247_managed_psk connmanctl> agent on Agent registered connmanctl> connect wifi_74da386c77f2_564d3431393235322d3247_managed_psk Agent RequestInput wifi_74da386c77f2_564d3431393235322d3247_managed_psk Passphrase = [ Type=psk, Requirement=mandatory, Alternates=[ WPS ] ] WPS = [ Type=wpspin, Requirement=alternate ] Passphrase? ******** Error /net/connman/service/wifi_74da386c77f2_564d3431393235322d3247_managed_psk: Operation aborted connmanctl>

Can anyone suggest what I should try next? I am certain that I am entering the correct password. Thanks.

At the trivial level:

• does the dongle work on other equipment?
  • is the passphrase using any special characters other than alphanumerics
    (this has caused trouble sometimes)
  • can you try a different channel for the wifi (I’ve had trouble on some equipment with particular channels - in my case 1)
    Derek

Thanks for taking the time to reply Derek.