Should I upgrade to Vero V?

I have been using the Vero 4k since 2018. Overall has been a good experience except for the last year with the cec bug.

With the Vero V now out I am wondering if I need to upgrade. Apart from the latest hardware it seems for my use case which is just watching 4k movies the current vero 4k should be fine.

Am I missing something or can I hold off for now?

We are still supporting Vero 4K for now, but if you want a faster system that is more future proofed you could upgrade.

The Vero 4K wonā€™t get a newer kernel, although a newer one is planned for Vero V.

The current pricing is introductory, and may need to go up in the future

Sam

1 Like

And if you plan on using a projector and need good HDR to SDR tonemapping, the Vero V is evidently the better choice.

As far as we know, the main advantages of the Vero V at the moment are:

• Support for videos using the AV1 codec.
  • Support for Widevine L1, which means somewhat improved performance when accessing commercial streaming services (e.g. Netflix, Disney Plus).
  • Navigating around the UI will be a bit more snappy; faster boot times; scraping a bit quicker.
  • Superior HDR to SDR conversion.
  • An internal remote dongle so you have two free USB ports.
  • One of the the USB ports is USB 3.0, which means better performance copying files to or from a locally connected drive.
  • Able to handle 4K/60fps material more smoothly.
  • A fix for some (rare) cases where subtitles are displayed in the wrong colours.
  • Better quality upscaling.
1 Like

I hope that there will be some video post processing improvements planned as well? I remember seeing a noticable video improvement when using MadVR on my PC.

Iā€™m hoping that the new CPU has the capabilities to do at least some basic video improvements?

Thanks everyone all very helpful. All I use my Vero for is 4k movies on a oled tv. So I think I will just wait for it to break before getting a new one.