Slow loading large video files from Synology Nas

Hi

I have been using OSMC for a while but it seems recently I have getting a slow response time loading a file and some “jerkyness” when playing.

The RPi2 is connected via a gigabit Ethernet cable and I have confirmed via mii-tool that it is connected at 1000mbps. The NAS is also connected at 1000mbps - confirmed with ethtool

Originbally I used to use handbrake on the video files to reduce the size but now I have more space available I have been using makeMKV.

I have tried using SMB share, a NFS share via OSMC and finally a local NFS mount (all of these after reading various forum posts) but nothing seems to make any difference.

One of the videos I have is a 5Gb file, its takes a good 5 minutes to start playing and then stutters. If I load the same file via windows over wifi it loads instantly and plays just fine.

I am not a Linux expert so don’t assume any knowledge there but I can ssh on to the Pi etc. Any suggestions much appreciated.

I have uploaded the logs to http://paste.osmc.io/oqocosemud

Sorry, I donlt think my last change to “local” nfs had taken effect, restarted - cleaned library and now seems much faster - the same 5Gb file now only taking a few second before it starts playing.

In case anyone finds this useful I added the following to /etc/fstab

synology is a host name supported by a local dns server, you can substitute the ip address of you NAS device.

synology:/volume1/video/films /mnt/films nfs noatime,noauto,x-systemd.automount,async,nfsvers=3,rsize=8192,wsize=8192,nolock,nofail,local_lock=all,soft,retrans=2,tcp 0 0
synology:/volume1/video/tv /mnt/tv nfs noatime,noauto,x-systemd.automount,async,nfsvers=3,rsize=8192,wsize=8192,nolock,nofail,local_lock=all,soft,retrans=2,tcp 0

Apologies if any of this is incorrect- its improved things for me but I am no expert - lots of googling today!

Wow, you have magically made the 100Mibt Chip connecting at 1G?