[SOLVED] Wireless connection failing after router reset

Hi all,

I’m new to the scene so I apologise in advance for any poor posting-etiquette or lack of basic understanding in some areas.

I have had to reset my home router to factory settings, and in doing so my Pi3 can no longer connect to it via WiFi. Other devices connect fine, my Pi connects via ethernet fine and it can also connect via WiFi to other broadcasting networks, so it’s safe to say the issue lies between my Pi3 and router (Netgear VMDG480). I have rebooted my Pi and router, and moved my pi closer to my router to ensure a good signal, and neither have worked. The link includes logs (apologies for excessive detail here) but having searched for ‘virgin’ (part of my SSID) I can see numerous occurrences quoting:

wpa_supplicant[365]: wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED bssid=20:e5:2a:f9:e6:f2 reason=0 locally_generated=1
wpa_supplicant[365]: wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-SSID-TEMP-DISABLED id=0 ssid=“virginmedia5586558” auth_failures=1 duration=10 reason=WRONG_KEY

Now the passphrase to connect to my router is 100% correct and contains no special characters (although it has changed from what it was previously), so would this indicate the public key for the WPA encryption?

I could be looking at the completely wrong thing here, but thought I’d try and offer something.

Debug logs

Let me know if I can give any further info.

Delete the old network in /var/lib/connman and try reconnect.

Assuming your VM router is a SuperHub, there shouldn’t be a need to reset. The WiFi password, assuming you didn’t change it is usually printed on the bottom or side of it.

I’ll give that a try when I get back home, thanks for the quick reply.

Yeah the admin password had been changed by my fiancée (who didn’t have a clue what it might be) and I needed to change my wpa key so a reset was the only option available.

Thanks again and I’ll update this shortly.

Yep that fixed it, thanks Sam for your help.

Hi.