SSH login to Raspberry error

Hello
I have two Raspberry devices on my LAN that I can SSH into with PuTTY without issue.
I am attempting to log into a friend of mine’s Raspberry via the internet. I have setup the port forwarding on their router and it appears that I am able to reach the device.

I expect this dialogue, since it’s the first time I’ve SSH’d into the device:

After inputting the default username of osmc, I hit enter to be prompted for the password, but it returns an error instead:

PuTTY%20RPi%20login%20error

Something I’ve noticed is the difference in key host types saved in the Windows registry between the two devices on my LAN and my friend’s accessed through the internet:

The OSMC version on all devices is the same:
VERSION_ID=“2018.10-1”

I’m not a SSH expert by any means, so I hope someone here can give me an idea as to what may be happening. I have searched the OSMC forums and found a number of SSH error posts, but nothing that behaves exactly as I am experiencing.

Thanks for your help in advance!

At first glance, it looks like your fiend’s device has been configured to use a keyfile, rather than password, for SSH access.

There was a very recent case where a user’s sshd_config file appeared to have been altered by persons unknown, probably when port 22 was opened to the Internet. You need to ask your friend if they’ve made any changes to /etc/ssh/sshd_config.

1 Like

Thanks for your response!
She doesn’t have the background to attempt something like a change to a config file. I’m the only one that has done anything on her device. As another note, when I tested a SSH connection to her Raspberry while I was still connected to her LAN, I was able to log in. The key host fingerprint was in my Windows registry, but when I had trouble connecting through the internet, I cleared all the keys. Stupid I know. I should have exported the registry key before making changes. Newbie mistake on my part.