Temperature controlled fan

I’ve been trying these last couple days to write a simple program to turn a fan on when my pi hits a specific temperature and then power down once it has cooled. I have looked all over through forums to find an example of other people doing similar things. I did manage to find one such instance but I have been completely unable to get his code to work properly. I think the problem is a combination of rasbian-osmc differences, and him using an older version of python. I’m still quite new to the world of linux and code in general, I have a little experience in VBA doing very simple programs but that is all. Below is the code I have been attempting to use. Any assistance in this matter would be greatly appreciated.

#!/usr/bin/env python3 import time import os import RPi.GPIO as GPIO GPIO.setmode(GPIO.BOARD) GPIO.setup(12, GPIO.OUT) GPIO.setwarnings(False) def getCPUtemperature(): res = os.popen('vcgencmd measure_temp').readline() return(res.replace("temp=","").replace("'C\n","")) def fanON(): GPIO.output(12, False) return() def fanOFF(): GPIO.output(12, True) return() def getTEMP(): CPU_temp = float(getCPUtemperature()) if CPU_temp>40: fanON() else: fanOFF() return() while 1: getTEMP() time.sleep(45)

Temp >40 should not be concerning. The Pi is designed to run at temps up to 85, at which point it already has logic in place to shutdown to protect itself.

Normal Pi CPU temperature is on the order of 40 - 60 degrees and will self throttle at 85 degrees by disabling the dynamic turbo if you exceed 85 degrees.

So unless you live in a particularly hot climate or the Pi has no ventilation you wouldn’t normally need to worry about temperature. Certainly a temperature controlled fan is overkill.