Trying to upgrade libtorrent (build from source)

I’m attempting to follow this guide to upgrade libtorrent on my rpi3.

Here’s where I’m getting stuck. I have no experience using build-dep so I’m not sure where to go from here. I know following another distro’s instructions on OSMC can be problematic so hoping for a little guidance.

osmc@osmc:~$ sudo apt-get build-dep libtorrent-rasterbar
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
E: You must put some 'source' URIs in your sources.list

Since that failed, did you try the part of the instructions it tells you to do if it fails?

sudo apt-get install build-essential checkinstall libboost-system-dev libboost-python-dev libboost-chrono-dev libboost-random-dev libssl-dev

Hi Katze,

I modified the mentioned page multiple time at the time I compiled Deluge/libtorrent myself, you’ll succeed if you follow the remark. Be aware you’ll need to follow the “Temporary Swap File for Rasperry Pi or low memory systems” part to have a successful make.

However may I point you to another direction to ease your installation? If so I updated this page http://dev.deluge-torrent.org/wiki/Installing/Linux/Debian/Jessie. This will use the PPA repository maintained by the Deluge Team and select a compatible package (Ubuntu trusty <> Debian Jessie). You’ll end with Deluge 1.3.14 and libtorrent 1.0.11, last confirmed working version.

I’ve some command line useful to clean your system if Deluge was compiled too
Feel free to come back if you have any question

This looks like this is the easiest way to get a newer version. I half want to find a way to remove the version I previously compiled and install from the repo while keeping all the torrents loaded in Deluge that are seeding. I’ve made this transition before, but it’s been some time. And I half want to just say screw it and start fresh.

In order to get the newest version of libtorrent I had to do the following: