Update failed. Samba error

I tried to do an update on my OSMC Pi this evening and it failed at 95% with a Samba error. This then prevented the Kodi app on iOS from finding the machine.

I found the logs which said that a couple of folders had incorrect permissions (755 instead of 700) so I fixed these. I’m no Linux expert, search engines help me get everything done.

Anyway, the remote app is running again now, but there is still a Samba issue which is preventing me from performing a system update.

It appears to be a registry issue, but I’m afraid Linux isn’t my thing

Any help appreciated, thank you

https://paste.osmc.tv/eqenaporob.hs

Mark.

Thats already strange

It could be a failing SD Card

Maybe upload full logs grab-logs -A where we might spot something.

Thanks for the reply. I tried grab-logs and it said the folder was not writeable… and I’ve not been able to fix it.

Ok that confirms that the SD card failed.
Suggest to backup the files you need/can and then do a new install on a new SD Card.

Sorry for the late reply. Real life getting in the way.

I was able to change the folder permissions though. The card is a sandisk ultra, only a year old, so hoping it’s not a card failure.

In terms of backup, what exactly do I need to do? I don’t mind a clean installation, but every time I’ve had to do this I lose the stuff recorded on PVR as my NAS runs the TVHeadend stuff. I presume there is a database file somewhere, but I’ve never been able to find it.

Which folder permission did you change? Is grab-logs now working?

You normally should be fine using the backup tool from MyOSMC. While generally it depends if your did your customization only in Kodi or also on the OS.
Generally /home/osmc/.kodi and /etc/ should include most customization.

I’ll have a look.

Unfortunately MyOSMC doesn’t work - the service is always unavailable.