Vero 4k - just received mine today, have seen a few issues

I’m a long-time XBMC/Kodi user (XBMC on PC hardware, then on RPi 1 (Sam’s distro that eventually became OSMC - thanks, Sam!) and now on Vero 4k.

Although I sometimes lack patience setting up gear at home, I’m a 20-year+ Unix/linux sysadmin and developer so I can usually get everything working.

I ordered my Vero 4k last week, received it (in Canada) today, unboxed it and plugged it in. I’m providing my experience so far here to potentially help others. Here’s how it has gone:

Plugged in Vero 4k, powered up and the remote wouldn’t work at the setup screen. I switched the bluetooth receiver to the other USB port and then it worked fine. It’s possible that the receiver wasn’t plugged in properly the first time (but unlikely) and also possible that one USB port it dead (highly unlikely). Anyway, the other port worked and I was off and running.

Got mostly set up (I’ve configured Kodi from scratch many, many times since the RPi 1 days), went to add my SMB shares (samba on Debian 7) but couldn’t see them. After some searching, finally found that I had to edit ~osmc/.smb/smb.conf to let the client on the Vero use SMB1.

Next, I had noticed that CEC didn’t work on the Vero (works on all 3 of my RPis) – the CEC service complained at each boot that it couldn’t see anyone to talk to. Googling for that pointed out that the HDMI cable that ships with the Vero 4k doesn’t pass the CEC signals! I switched back to my older cable and sure enough, it started working.

Any of these issues could have caused somebody else to rebox the Vero and ship it right back for a refund. The “CEC desn’t work with the included cable” issue is especially maddening. Any idea how that has happened and what can be done to correct it?

…Steve

Hi Steve,

I’m very sorry to hear you’ve experienced problems with your Vero 4K[quote=“Steve_van_der_Burg, post:1, topic:38051”]