Vero 4k+, LG CX, Apple TV 4k and Sonos Arc

Bought a Sonos Arc yesterday after I got tired of waiting for the Bose 900 to reach New Zealand!

I’m not an expert by any means but I would have thought that the equipment listed in the thread title is a reasonably common combination. Thanks to the guide at the link below, I think I have managed to get Dolby Atmos up and running so thanks to whoever put that together. It took me a good hour or more of tinkering but I got there.

Audio hardware and software configuration

The online advice suggests that, if your Sonos app displays you are getting Atmos, it is probably true. The “Dolby Atmos” notification which used to appear on the top right of the TV no longer appears. I am guessing that might only appear when you getting the version of Atmos that comes through the TV speakers only – ie. a much lower level of Atmos, if you know what I mean.

One question that I cannot get my head around. I thought the Sonos on its own is essentially a 5.0.2 system – I do not have a subwoofer. Why in “number of channels” on the Vero do I set it to 7.1? Am I losing any sound quality by doing this?

Next step is to add the PS5 into the mix……

You set to 2.0 or stereo, and enable bistream and hd bitstream passthrough. (I don’t know the exact wording of the settings as I am not in front of Kodi right now, but it’s all in the same system/sound settings page) That sounds counter intuitive but it’s the correct way.

Also the CX was downgraded compared to C9 in what it would passthrough through HDMI, but I think it still supports Dolby TrueHD.

1 Like