Video playback randomly stops

Hello,

I have a Raspberry PI 2 with the latest version (RC3) of OSMC.

On some videos, playback stops at random intervals and goes back to the menu.

Any ideas how I can stop it?

Thanks,

Carl

Please upload full logs and MediaInfo output

S

check if you have bad blocks in your HDD

Sorry, I am a novice. How do I get that information?

C

Hi.

The logs are at [here][1]

Regards,

Carl
[1]: http://paste.osmc.io/iwenoxisoq

In your advancedsettings.xml why do you have buffermode set to 1 and readbufferfactor set to 1 ?

You appear to be using nfs, and buffermode 1 means that all filesystems including nfs will be buffered rather than just internet streams, but at the same time you have readbufferfactor set to 1.

Although 1 is the default readbufferfactor for vanilla Kodi, 4 is the default for OSMC and in our opinion it should never be set as low as 1 as it can cause buffer under-runs to occur which result in playback stopping.

So please remove readbufferfactor entirely or set it to a value between 4 and 10.

I also see that you are using wireless - are you sure that your wireless connection is fast and stable enough for the bitrate of videos you are streaming ? Do you have problems with all videos or only some, and what bitrate are the ones you have trouble with ?

Try my readbufferfactor suggestion first, if you are still having problems and there is a way you can temporarily plug your Pi in via an Ethernet cable please test that so we can determine if the wifi connection is the issue.

Looks like the video starts playing at line 1818 and stops at line 2078

I think the problem is around line 1991: 08:12:20 T:1634526240 ERROR: Read - Error( -14, read call failed with “F” )

Presumably the problem is with the NFS mount? If so, is there any way to find out what that problem was?

Regards,

Carl

I would rule out Wifi first if at all possible. It’s the most likely cause for intermittent network connectivity.