Access NFS directory from Windows Server

Hello!

I just got my Vero 4K+ today and I am trying to mount my Videos via NFS from Windows Server 2016 but am stumped. I haven been going through the various forum posts in NFS mounts and everyone’s problems seem to be slightly different than mine.

I am a noob coming from LibreELEC where to add my NFS folders I went to Movies ->Add Videos->Browse to my NFS Share, click on the folders and that’s it. When I try to replicate these steps on my Vero 4K+ I can click on the NFS Share up address, open the first level folder but can not move past the initial folder eg. nfs://192.168.1.28/video but I can not access folder1 in /video.

My NFS settings on windows are below and I have added the up address of my Vero 4K+ To the list of permitted users

Can anyone please help?

If the folders you are trying to share are NTFS you probably have a permissions nightmare. I suppose you would need to define authorised users on the share in addition to NFS’s authorisation by IP address.

Is there a reason to be using NFS?

I am using NFS because my file storage is on a Windows Server and this was presumably a easy setup since it works just fine with my LibreELEC system in the next room over with no changes. This this a top level folder with its own drive letter; all file permissions were set at the top most level folder.

Understood. So what is the user for the LE system and is it the same on the OSMC system? Or did you create a new user for OSMC, set the permissions for that and let it percolate down through the file tree?

You can, of course, share the same files with SMB which would be the default for a Windows server and you’ll find more ppl with that setup so more advice available.

I guess you’ve found this already:

I have Windows Server 2016 serving NFS to my Vero for testing. OSMC/Kodi will not connect with default settings using NFS version 4…it requires the minorversion in the fstab line, like: