Boosting NFS speed

Hi all,

I’ve had issues accessing video content on a server. With help of this forum I got a fstab mounted samba working. However with some bigger files it wasn’t enough so I went with NFS. It is better but not perfect, I still have stuttering image and caching with some files. So can someone tell me if my fstab entry could be better:

192.168.1.41:/export/Torrents /mnt/Nusb nfs noauto,x-systemd.automount,soft,tcp 0 0

Info: Rpi3, OSMC, accessing via WIFI

Thank you,

Here is the topic of the first issue that was nearly resolved using samba and fstab entry:
Caching, freezes and sound stuttering on movies over Smb & NFS - #13 by ActionA
Still with some issues at rebooting discussed on topic : "a stop job is running" for samba unmount - #16 by sam_nazarko

There we go, there’s the problem

Well that’s not the question. My setup relies on wifi access so I m asking for any tip to get the most out of it !

I’ve been told the same when no files at all were playing, than someone suggested to go fstab rather than accessing the share via kodi. And it worked great! Nearly everything is smooth now. By the way on the same wifi on my mac computer and on a tablet: everything work like a charm, the movies are perfectly watchable. I’ve tried with another Wifi dongle, same issue.

So my question is : is there any tweaks to my NFS setup I could implement. Starting from my fstab entry:
192.168.1.41:/export/Torrents /mnt/Nusb nfs noauto,x-systemd.automount,soft,tcp 0 0

Hi @th0m I’m not sure I can offer any advice that hasn’t been offered before but I’m very interested in any solutions you may find as I have the same issue.

1 Like

Sorry for being blunt but if you want to stream HD over WiFi you’re highly likely to run into trouble!

Fancy posting a media info of any file you’re having issues with so we can see the bit rate?