Bricked vero on using different power supply?

Hi all

So I used a different power supply to power my Vero by mistake and now it is not booting at all.
Instead of using the power supply that came with Vero I plugged in one with output of 12V and 1.5A.

So my question is: Did I just brick my Vero or is there a way to recover from this mishap?

If it doesn’t now boot on the correct psu, then you probably really have bricked it, with not recovery route.
Derek

The Vero won’t tolerate more than 5V. 12V will have definitely caused some damage to the internal circuitry.

Curious: does the red light on the SPDIF port come on?

Sam

Have a look here, not sure though http://forum.solid-run.com/cubox-i-hardware-lab-f16/did-i-cook-my-box--t1158.html

Sam: no red light when plugging in anymore. However the whole box becomes very very hot after a few minutes.

Even if a fuse blew and saved it I am not technically savvy enough to replace the fuse on my own i am guessing.

Fearing this was a final goodbye to my new Vero. Bummer!

If the fuse blew, then it should not be hot. It should be ice cold.
I think a chip/diode/transistor/ect has shorted and is drawing all the power it can. The psu is delivering all the power it can, but it is not enough blow the fuse.
If you can find the specific component being very hot, then i think you have found the fault. Replacing the defective item is another matter.

That’s why I think that every device needs some tvs diode.
If the vero has one you might be lucky and that’s the cause of getting hot.
Else, as others stated, it is really defective.

If it’s any consolidation, just bricked mine too. :grimacing: Accidentally switched PSU with a Netgear Switch. Still wondering how the Vero PSU managed to power a 12V device, though… As to the Vero, it became very hot and died.

Many modern electronics have voltage regulators that can regulate from higher or lower voltage to the target voltage. Often but not only found in battery powered devices.