Cannot get 3D MVC MKVs to play in 3D

Hello everyone,

I am a complete newb when it comes to Kodi and wasnt able to find any answers via forum search so I figured I’d try my luck here. I apologize if this has been discussed elsewhere.

I just received my Vero 4k+ and can’t seem to get 3D MVC MKV backups to present in anything other than 2D/monoscopic. I have over 40 3D movies that I’ve backed up and all play in 2D. Here are my settings/things I’ve attempted thus far.

Player Settings
Adjust display refresh rate: on start/stop
Sync playback to display off

Stereoscopic 3D settings
Playback mode - ask me
Preferred mode - same as movie

I’ve tried messing with different naming conventions - both movie.3d.sbs.mkv and movie.3d.mvc.mkv - no luck. Kodi detects all movies as 3D.

Vero is outputting to my 3D projector which detects 3D when I switch to SBS or O/U modes.

Build is up to date. Any help would be appreciated!

Thank you!

Have you installed the 3D build?

If it’s not included in the build osmc updates to when first setting up then I’m going to have to say no. If not, I’ll continue looking around and try that first. Any quick links to the 3d build and install guide would be appreciated.

Thank you again for the quick response.

Here you are: 3D Frame Packed output

It’s a separate build as it’s not ready for prime time just yet.

Thanks for the link. I’ve installed the 3D build and now have the option of utilizing hardware based 3D mode, however, I’ve ran into a couple issues.

This pattern is displayed with every movie

Also, I dont think my projector is even detecting it as a 3d signal, whereas it was able to detect SBS/TAB prior to adding the 3D build.

Btw, should I be posting this in the 3D build thread?

Just did a fresh install using OSMC build from November along with the 3D build. Same issues.

Any other thoughts would be appreciated. Could I have gotten a bad Vero unit? Everything else works great 4k, atmos etc