Can't wake backend with OSMC

Hi all,

I’m a newbie in the process of setting up OSMC on a Pi3. The setup process is mostly going well. I generally like the look and feel of OSMC and it seems to run pretty well on the Pi. I’ve had a couple issues that I’ve been able to work through with the help of the good folks on this site.

I plan to use OSMC on the Pi as a PVR connected to the TV in my living room. I have NextPVR running on a backend Windows 10 desktop in another room, which I’ve connected to the Pi without trouble.

Before purchasing the Pi, I configured Kodi on a Windows 7 laptop and connected it via a docking station to my TV, with NextPVR running on the Windows 10 backend. That setup runs very well, but I want to reclaim my laptop for other uses. Enter the Pi.

I’ve configured Kodi on the laptop to send a wake-on-lan packet to the desktop on Kodi startup. I “exit” Kodi on the laptop if I’m not going to use it for awhile and have to re-start it when I want to use it again. That re-start wakes up the backend. (I have the backend set to go to sleep after an hour of inactivity.)

I’d like to be able to configure the Pi/OSMC to do the same thing or something similar, but I haven’t been able to figure out how to do it, or indeed if it can be done. I’ve spent a lot of time searching this site for answers, but so far I haven’t found anything helpful.