Connect to USB drive on VERO 4K+ from Mac via Samba

I’ve attached a USB drive to my Vero 4K + formatted it as Ext4 on my iMac via the terminal using very helpful instructions from fzinken on this post

I would now like to mount this drive on my iMac so I can transfer files to it. I have installed Samba on the Vero 4K +, here’s the settings:

When I browse my network via Connect to Server on my iMac I see 2 network locations:

When I open either parent folders - HUB (the name I gave it) or Samba Shares on Hub - it shows that I am connected as Guest, with the option to Connect As, which asks for a name & password. The osmc name & password I setup to connect via ssh doesn’t work.

When I open either osmc folders I get the error:
The operation can’t be completed because the original item for “osmc” can’t be found.

It’s obvious I’m sure that I’m new to this :slight_smile: so any help here would be much appreciated.

Also, why do I have a question mark for an icon on HUB?

Thanks

The samba password is independent from the ssh password. So it is osmc/osmc by default.

Will be fixed on the next update

Great, thanks fzinken. osmc is now mounted as a network share. All I’m seeing though is 4 empty folders: Movies, Music, Pictures & TV Shows. Is there a way I can see the external drive in order to manage its contents from the iMac?

Also,

Thanks!

It should be auto shared.
Are you sure you got the Samba Share and not the UPNP one?

Maybe start with logs from OSMC. Uplaod via ssh grab-logs -A

Your one level too far down. Attached drives are by default mounted as separate shares from the home folder. Your looking in smb://[vero]/osmc/ when you are trying to get to smb://[vero]/[drive name]/

They should be shared automatically, if you let the system automount the drive. If you have made a manual mount, you also have to make a manual share in smb-local.conf.

sudo nano /etc/samba/smb-local.conf

[usb-drive]
    browsable = yes
    read only = no
    valid users = osmc