Denon AV not showing Atmos as audio format

I have recently purchased a Vero 4K and have this connected to my denon AV via hdmi, playing trueHD/Atmos mkv files from my nas, through to my 4K LG oled. However my AV is not displaying that this is an Atmos audio file, any suggestions?
Apologise I am a novice.

Have you checked this wiki entry?

Do you have ATMOS speakers connected to your receiver? As in “height” channels.

From what I know with my own Denon receiver is that it communicates if you use ATMOS to the Vero and if not in use Vero will not send ATMOS but TrueHD or DD+.

I’ve a Denon x4500h receiver in 7.1 config and plays Atmos without any issues, even shows on display

" https://download.dolby.com/us/en/test-tones/dolby-atmos-trailer_leaf_1080.mp4 "

see the link from @fzinken be sure you enable all the audio formats and also passthrough.

Just for my understanding. You have Atmos speakers connected to your receiver (as in 5/7.1.2/4)?

i don’t have atmos speakers connected. I’ve only 7.1 setup. i meant that atmos is displayed when playing (for example the link I’ve added in previous message), as reply to @r666rkb which doesn’t see it.

I will try the file in your link but i have the same issue as the topic starter with my Denon X1400H.
I do not see Atmos in the display when playing an Atmos enabled movie. I always understood it is because I have my receiver setup as 5.1. so these files will show TrueHD or DD+ on the display.

In my manual of AVR this is mentioned: Dolby Atmos is not supported in a 5.1 channel or lower speaker configuration.

for x1400h it seems the same: http://manuals.denon.com/AVRX1400H/NA/EN/DRDZSYpvilxnds.php unless you add special Dolby Atmos Enabled speakers to your config

1 Like

Great find. Now I have some substantiation for my explanation.
@r666rkb might have a 5.1 setup too.

I want to add 2 new ceiling speakers but i first need a new house or ceiling… :stuck_out_tongue: