DVB-T2 Recommendation

I’m looking for recommendations for a good SUPPORTED DVB-T2 usb stick I can use on a raspberry pi 3 that is to be run as a TV headend server to supply a number of OSMC clients and an Emby Server. Preferrably one that supports multiple streams.

Also, will a RPI3 handle this? I don’t have an areal near my servers which is why I plan to run it on a raspberrypi and send it over the network

No clear recommendation but search the forum and you will get an idea which works and which don’t work.
https://discourse.osmc.tv/search?q=DVB-T2

@sam_nazarko is also planning to add a DVB-T2 stick to the OSMC shop if demand is there.

Well receiving the signal and sending it to the LAN without transcoding is not a problem for the Pi

Does it not transcode it before sending it across the LAN or is it sent in its raw format? Either is fine, just curious as I have no experience with TV headend server

This would be good! Any ETA on this or is it just if there is the demand?

EDIT: Does the Pi need an MPEG2 License? Have read in places that it does

Unless you instruct it to transcode it would sent the raw stream.

Well the Pi only needs a MPEG2 License if you want to play back MPEG2 encoded media

Probably a few weeks for the officially supported model

Sam

Any hints as to what the officially supported model is going to be? :stuck_out_tongue:

I’ve been looking at the supported devices on DVB-T2 USB Devices - LinuxTVWiki and so far the August DVB-T210 seems to be the best bet. It’s currently around £30 on Amazon. Edit also this looks promising. Officially supported by [LinuxTV](PCTV Systems tripleStick T2 (292e) - LinuxTVWiki too

Are there any DVB-T2 devices that support more than one stream? The Hauppauge_WinTV-dualHD apparently does not but does not work with Linux.

Failing that, can TVheadend Server utilise more than one DVB-T2 device being plugged in at the same time?