DVD stutter

Hi,

I’ve been using a Vero 4k+ for a few months now. The firmware is up to date.

I can play files from a NAS in any resolution and framerate without problems. But my DVD collection is stored as ISO images, and those I can’t play in good quality:

First problem was that there were huge stuttering issues. Every second or so, the frame seems to “skip a beat”.

I played around with the “auto change framerate” settings. If anything, that made it worse: When playing a region 2 DVD image (24 fps) and setting the output to “auto”, the TV changed to that format, but not only was the picture still stuttering, but now there were also video/audio sync issues - the longer the ISO played, the farther away audio drifted from the video.

So I went back to fixed framerate (I set it to 60Hz since most of my DVDs are R1) but deactivated hardware decoding for SD resolutions. This helped a lot with the sync issues, and the stuttering returned to the “drop a frame a second” state. Still not enjoyable, though.

Some funny facts:

• I’m seeing the same problems with DVDs that are R1 and R2, NTSC and PAL, 24 and 30 frames. The stuttering seems to be no different at all. Also, it doesn’t matter in the least bit how the output is set - the stuttering is the same whether the TV is set to 50Hz or 60Hz.

• I’m also using a Amazon FireTV (Gen. 1) that is running the same version of Kodi. On this device, I can play the ISOs without stuttering or sync issues on the same TV. On the FireTV, switching of framerate is not supported in the first place and it was never required for decent playback either.

All this - and some previous threads - suggest that there is a basic problem with the Vero when it comes to DVDs and/or MPEG2. It seems to be completly unrelated to how the output equipment is set.

Can anyone suggest a way to get to the bottom of this?

Regards

Some logs would help here, with Adjust Refresh Rate enables.

Sam