Generally poor user experience; slow response, fickle remote(s), and network oddities

TL;DR - GUI is laggy or non-responsive. LG Magic Remote control is sporadic. Vero randomly “disappears” from the network. Do I perhaps have a bad unit?

Verbose post:
I’ve been using Kodi for several years. Started on a Raspberry Pi 2 I think. Worked awesome until high resolution movies came along and it just didn’t seem to handle them very well. Then I got a Firestick 4K and it worked better. Wll, except for the atrocious Amazon home screen and the tendency for the Kodi app to become unresponsive and needing to be killed and restarted. Then I tried it out on an old xbox One that I never used. It was pretty much the same thing as the Firestick. I missed a dedicated Kodi box.

So I looked for a dedicated Kodi box and the Vero 4K+ looked to be exactly what I wanted. I should be able to control everything from my TV remote and no crap I don’t want. Ordered it from PiShop and eagerly awaited it in the mail. Since I am so familiar with Kodi, I set it up just like I always do. I set my Synology samba shares, downloaded my OpenSubtitle & Yahoo weather addon’s and got to watching! My LG NANO91 recognized it as an LG Bluray player, so I thought I would be golden! Turns out the LG Magic Remote doesn’t play nice with Vero/Raspberry/Linux. My issue appears to be that I get about 6 - 10 “clicks” or button presses and then the Vero doesn’t recognize the remote any longer.