Help please - install issue

Hello!

Noob here so I apologise in advance for the daft questions but I’ve been trying for a few days and haven’t been getting anywhere with this yet :frowning:

Long story short - I can’t seem to install OSMC for my Raspberry Pi (1st gen). I’ve used the installer as well as trying by writing the disk image to SD card with Win32 Disk Imager…

The process of putting the image on the SD card seems to go perfectly well; however, when I put the SD card in my pi and plug in the power… no signal, at all!

I’ve tried two different SD cards and two different first gen pi but sadly I get the same results no matter which way I try to combine them.

Not sure what else you would need to know but, if it makes a different, it is micro SD cards in SD card adapters - one of them is 8gb and the other is 32gb

Previously had RaspBMC running on the 8gb card and, as a test, have successfully had Raspbian running on it. I have also had OpenELEC running on the 32gb one so it just seems to be OSMC that is stumping me?? :confused:

I had hoped that OSMC would be available via NOOBS (where I got raspBMC from originally) but unfortunately it looks as though NOOBS only has raspbian on it now?

Thank you in advance for any help you can offer me!

PS: by no signal I mean that nothing seems to boot at all; so it is just the black TV screen saying no signal with the countdown timer for it putting itself to standby mode.

Here’s what is on the SD card that I have put OSMC on:

See if your micro-sd is in this list: RPi SD cards - eLinux.org
It is a list of known/not known to work cards on Pi

Also, when you say no signal at all I’m assuming the PI does turn on right?

You can also try to see if the problem doesn’t lie in your HDMI cable

1 Like

Hi and thanks for your reply.