Load roms/games from NAS/network location

Anyone know how to load games from a nas instead of from sd card?

Via smbclient and mount under fstab there are threads here on the forum

Or NFS threads also here on the forum on howto

hi,

as it comes to linux i’m not good at it. ans i don’t know what you mean.
anyone has a tutorial?

tried to edit fstab, but when saving it says permission denied.

use sudo before the edit command

//mynas_ip/Roms /home/pi/roms cifs defaults,ro,user=xxx,password=xxx 0 3

is this the sdcard rom folder? /home/pi/roms

my roms are in this folder: /opt/retrosmc/home/pi/RetroPie/roms

what else do i need to do?

Ok, some confusion here:

1. I assume you have installed OSMC, then you have /home/osmc/
  2. THis sounds like to be the folder from the old install and not from the latest RetroPie install that has been provided here [HowTo] RetroPie and OSMC: Retrosmc - Retrogaming on OSMC
  3. After you installed latest version roms are in /home/osmc/RetroPie/roms

i’ve found this RetroPie - Running games directly via network - YouTube
but what are the paths for osmc?

On OSMC, the paths are the same as with any other RetroPie installation with one exception:

Everything that is normally in /home/pi/ is in /home/osmc/ here.

i’ve put this script in Ports folder:

sudo mount -t cifs -o user=xxx,password=xxx //your_server_ip/Roms /home/osmc/roms
sudo ln -s /home/osmc/roms/snes /home/osmc/RetroPie/roms

Unable to resolve host osmc
can’t chdir to /home/osmc/roms: no such file or directory

You have to create a folder first before mounting something on it.

It doesn’t help to put any scripts into the Ports folder.

But let’s start from the beginning:

First change to your home directory:

cd ~

Then make a new folder where you want to mount the networkdrive to:

mkdir roms

Then mount the networkshare to it:

sudo mount -t cifs -o user=xxx,password=xxx //your_server_ip/Roms /home/osmc/roms