Nearly there but still some 4k juddering

Hi,

I’m fairly new to the Vero 4K box and so far it’s going pretty good. However I am experiencing some problems with slow/choppy 4K playback with no sound.

Initially I had the same issue with a 25Gb 1080p Bluray rip with True HD audio but I solved that with a little reading and changing to the fstab mounts instead of Kodi’s SMB. That file now plays perfect.

I’m still seem to be getting a problem with a 45Gb 4k mkv file of Mechanic Resurrection. The file plays for a couple of seconds with perfect audio and video but then appears to play in slightly slow motion and no sound.

I’ve been reading about an advanced.xml file but I am not sure if that’s something I need to mess about with - any guidance would be appreciated.

I’ve included a screenshot of the file playing if that helps.

Thanks,

Chris

Are you using WiFi or Wired?

Can you post a Kodi debug log?

Sam

1 Like

Hi Sam,

I’m using a wired connection.

I’m working on the debug log, managed to switch debugging on in the Kodi settings but I’m a bit lost of how to get that to you?

Chris.

Thanks,

The log can be found here:

https://paste.osmc.tv/ozefelojam

I also noticed the 1080p movie that I checked last night is also having issues. Perhaps I didn’t play it long enough to verify it was ok. However, five minutes or so today and it starts to slow down and become very choppy.

Thanks.

Have you tried using an FTP server instead of SMB to see if that makes a difference? I’m using FTP and it’s very fast. No juddering with my setup.

The log seems to show some throughput issues. Can you show me the fstab line for ChrisB_PC?

Sam

This is what I have for that mount (password changed)

//192.168.1.100/Movies /mnt/ChrisB_PC_Movies cifs x-systemd.automount,noauto,rw,iocharset=utf8,username=Chris\040Burwell,password=xxxxx,uid=osmc,gid=osmc,file_mode=0770,dir_mode=0770 0 0

That looks OK.