Newbie setup issues

Hi all,

I’m an OSMC newbie with a very shallow knowledge of Linux. I just got an RPi3 with noobs pre-installed (I bought a Canakit) and I’m working on getting the Pi set up to run OSMC. I’ve had a couple problems, and I’d appreciate any help I could get. Thanks in advance.

As background, I have NextPVR running on a Windows 10 computer as my “back end”. I have Kodi running on a Windows 7 laptop with the NextPVR client enabled and properly configured. I can see and play my recorded TV programs and videos that are stored on the Windows 10 PC from the Windows 7 laptop. I have “shared” certain directories on the Windows 10 computer and was able to browse to their locations on the Windows 7 PC when adding videos to it.

My objective with the Pi is to replace the laptop with it, thereby reclaiming my laptop for other uses.

Today I began trying to set up the Pi with this in mind. I booted the Pi up into noobs and connected to my wifi. I was presented with several operating system options, as expected. One of them was OSMC Pi2. That seemed like a problem to me since I’m running a Pi3, so I looked around for what to do. The best I could find was to create a bootable SD card from scratch and boot from it. I don’t have a spare SD card, and if I have to do that, I’ll get one and do it. In the meantime, I went ahead and chose OSMC Pi2. The result was an apparently successful installation of OSMC, but I’m wondering if I should have a different version installed, specific to the Pi3.