Pi 3b locks up just after starting playback after long idle?

I’m pretty new to the whole raspberry pi thing. I bought my first pi 3 model b a bit over a week ago. canakit via amazon, along with a canakit 2.5a power supply. Put it in an Enokay case also from amazon, and applied the kinda small copper heatsink.

I installed osmc on an 8gb sd card i had around, played with it a bit, and then got cocky about installing a jack for an external wifi antenna.

it’s not like i have any professional training but I’m pretty alright with a soldering iron and i just bought a cheap chinese hot air tool that seems to work pretty well.

I hadn’t realized that the resistor between the rf filter and the antenna is a 0 ohm and spent between an hour and 90 minutes trying to get the 0201 resistor soldered down before searching some more and then just using a hair-fine filament of silver plated wire.

i cleaned the board as best i could with MG Chemical flux remover, added a linear dipole antenna removed from an old router, and put it back in service and it seemed to work just fine.

until the 2nd day.

Got home from work, picked a video to watch, and after 40 seconds or so it locked up. Power cycle, back in business.

Next day, same thing. Grave doubts about my human-handling of an 0201 smt components set in, so, these things are just $35, right? ordered another from Amazon. Same canakit item. Did not eff with it. Applied a 20mm*10mm aluminum heatsink to the cpu (same kind of 3m graphite adhesive pad) and put it in the case.

Works great. Until the 2nd day. Same deal - less than a minute into playing a video it locks up.

and so on.

i searched a bit and tried disabling automatic updates but it didn’t make any difference.

What should i try next?

Where is the video located you are playing? Local or remote

Post debug logs.

nfs - server is xubuntu 16.4

I’ll turn on debug logging and see what shows up i guess

grab-logs -A
From ssh.
Post url here.

http://paste.osmc.io/unefigupar