Raspberry Pi 2 on the go media player running OSMC

I wish to use a Raspberry Pi 2 running OSMC as a music player for my car. My reason for pursuing this is my phone is incapable of holding my entire music library and I want to have it on the go. On to my questions (warning, I am very new to Pi).

1. Is it possible to setup a wifi access point on the Pi while running OSMC? I have found countless guides on how to connect to a wifi connection, but not how to create one while using the OSMC OS. I don’t care about talking to the internet at all, I just want to be able to control the Pi with the phone, and have the Pi play the music.

2. I have a 128gb Sandisc Ultra Micro SD Card. I need this sd card to house the OS as well as all of the media. How can I get the media into a location that OSMC can read?

Thanks

You do understand that if you connect the phone to a hotspot run by the pi, that the phone will now no longer have a data connection until it’s disconnected from the hotspot? This is the first reason why you would rather run the hotspot from the phone and have the pi connect to it.
This thread below address all of this and more…

Also, I think there have been reports of Rpi not dealing with sdxc (very high capacity) sdcards… If it seems to be a problem when you try to install, you could try installing to a smaller card and using the sdxc in a usb adapter maybe?

Before you go down the path much farther, have you considered using Subsonic (www.subsonic.org) music server? If you have a computer that you can leave on at home with enough storage space and a mobile device with a data connection, then you are set. No need for a rpi in the the car! Good luck.

Streaming music off of a data connection burns through monthly data limits way too fast. If I had infinite data then this would be my go to, but alas I do not.

I did not know that. I would have thought it be the other way around if anything. Ok, well I guess the phone will have to be the hotspot then.