Recommendation for external database server / skin

Hi all,

coming from Dune HD Max I’m upgrading to Vero 4K+. I’m completely new to OSMC and Kodi (my Vero 4K+ just arrived today) and would like you guys to recommend a solution for the following scenario:

With the Dune players I was used to host and manage a centralized catalog of movies and TV shows on my Windows Home Server. All players in the household could access the catalog and play the media stored on the Windows machine from the network share. I’m looking for a similar solution for the Vero 4K+ with Kodi, especially I don’t want to scrape and edit the catalog on the Vero itself but rather on the Windows machine.

My initial research tells me I should use Emby server on the Windows machine and the Emby sync addon for Kodi on the Vero. Am I correct or can you recommend a better/similar solution for what I’m trying to do?

Also about the skin. How do I install a different skin on the Vero 4K+ and are all the skins compatible with the “remote catalog” via Emby or similar media servers? Can you recommend a skin? It should be available in german and at least allow to display both the original and localized movie/TV show title… Thanks!

That can be done using either Kodi or some specific medimanagers on Windows with a central MySQL database (e.g on your NAS or the Vero.).

What’s wrong with the OSMC skin?

You could run mysql on the servermachine, install kodi and configure it to use mysql on all machines and map the same shares with network paths. that will let you use the same library on all installs. guide is on the wiki https://kodi.wiki/view/MySQL

You can then set up different users in kodi one for each user, so that each can track what they have watched and continue from there…