TL-WN823N wifi adaptor not detected please help!

Hi all

I’m fairly new to OSMC. I was using Raspbmc previously and purchased this wifi adapter so that I could use yatse with wifi rather than plugging an ethernet into my pi each time (I use the ethernet for other things too).

I have a raspberry pi b+ model and believe that I have the correct power adapter (purchased from pihut).

However when going into network settings I can only see options for Wired and MySQL but not wireless. I’ve switched on max usb option and installed the latest updates to OSMC.

How do I firstly get the “Wireless” option to appear and then successfully set this up!? I’ve read that this device is compatible maybe I’m doing something wrong.

Edit:

Did some digging around on this forum. Got this info from dmesg hopefully it will help

[ 3.238384] usb 1-1.5: new high-speed USB device number 4 using dwc_otg
[ 3.339437] usb 1-1.5: New USB device found, idVendor=2357, idProduct=0109
[ 3.339468] usb 1-1.5: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
[ 3.339483] usb 1-1.5: Product: 802.11n NIC
[ 3.339495] usb 1-1.5: Manufacturer: Realtek
[ 3.339508] usb 1-1.5: SerialNumber: 00e04c000001

It would be great to get this working! Hope someone can help me please !

Edit2: I think the driver for this is rtl8192EU. The device itself is the EU v2 of the tp link.

Seems like no-one wants to help? :frowning: patiently waiting now. Not much else I can provide at this stage.

Well a google search makes that quite likely. So you might want to check this thread for ideas

Thanks for replying! This problem is pretty frustrating especially since others seem to have no problems with this device.

Reading that thread it seems that Sam has already included this driver into osmc. Perhaps my id just needs attaching to the driver.

@sam_nazarko could you help me please !? Thanks!!