Vero 4K won't boot on second start

My Vero 4K is brand new. Well, it’s been run once.

It had its first start about a week ago.

It booted and appeared to update itself. However, I was unable to configure it to work with my W7 system.

(As I explained in an earlier post, I don’t want to stream - just play videos from my wired network and a player-connected USB hard drive dock)

I imagine that anyone who’s had experience with Linux would probably find the configuration a breeze, but I certainly couldn’t get it set up, even though I’ve been building and servicing Windows systems for over twenty years.

Anyway, I tried. I read the booklet but the instructions only explain how to turn it on. I couldn’t find any coherent instructions, or YouTube videos online.

So I gave up, unplugged the device (having found no on\off button) and re-connected my WDTDLive player, which I’d hoped the Vero would replace.

After searching the net unsuccessfully for another day or two (for more info), I finally decided to try again.

Not to be. The Vero 4K won’t turn on, now. Red light only. Tried 2 or 3 times over the course of several hours, plus leaving it on for a 30 min stretch, but still no blue light.

Incidentally, I’ve been reading through various pages on this board and I note that some users have mentioned the lack of a power button. OK, I understand that the device’s power consumption is minimal, but I’m curious as to why it’s equipped with a red light. I mean, if it’s not intended to be turned off, why not just show blue if it’s on, otherwise no light at all?

BTW Sam, if you read this, I’m Ian - the NZ guy who had trouble with the USB3 hub EU power adapter that came with the Vero.

I won’t bother returning it.

But I would like to get my Vero working, please.

Hi

If you’re streaming from SMB via Windows 7, selecting SMBv1 under Settings → Services → SMB Version would probably do the trick. Otherwise we’d need more details about how you’re trying to add these shares.