VPN - Which one and how?

Hi all!

So, going to get a VPN provider for my Vero4k and have a few questions.

I have installed the openvpn Addon from the Brian Hornsby’s repo. Is it just a simple as putting in your username and password from your subscription chosen VPN in the settings or is there more involved?

Knowing how things change constantly, which VPN is considered best value/workability around at the moment?

Ideally, I would have it installed on my Mac and Vero 4k. I have also installed DD WRT on a spare router and was thinking of installing the VPN directly on that but that may be more involved for my tiny tete…

All comments appreciated.

Thanks,
M

I

Hi,

https://discourse.osmc.tv/search?q=Brian%20Hornsby%20order%3Alatest

I’ve been using PIA for a few years, I’ve found them to good value and stable:

Thanks Tom.

Thanks Tom…good info. Just hoping it’s ‘plug and play’ that was all.
I have a free Windsribe account (10gb per month max) but that doesn’t work with the Addon…I think I need the premium version…is there a free one I can test within the Addon?..only need 10 mins or so to test it out…it’s just I’m worried my terrible bandwidth (4.4mb) together with a VPN might make my viewing experience pretty poor!

Thanks,

Michael

Hi,

Looks like windscribe will work with the Zomboided vpn addon:

Thanks Tom.

I am using Zomboided VPN manager with PIA, and it very easy to use, and is configured via the Kodi user interface.

After it is installed, just input your user and password, and follow the guide.

Thanks Hansen-dk…this is the info I was after.

M

I’ve used PIA, Nord and finally chose Express VPN (using Zomboided) and all worked well. Express was just a bit faster in throughput after encryption, so settled on that).