We're designing a new look and feel for OSMC

We went through a few iterations of the OSMC skin last year. While we're making it ready for Kodi 17 (Krypton), which is due in the Summer, we'd also like to improve the skin at the same time.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://osmc.tv/2016/03/were-designing-a-new-look-and-feel-for-osmc/
2 Likes

Simply amazing!

A giant +1 for the first look with the gradients! Keep it simple and universal.

Hands down. I like it a lot!

Truth to be told, every once in a while a switch to a new skin mainly because the eye gets bored and I want to know what else is out there in terms of skins, but rather quickly I switch back to the OSMC skin. It’s simple, it’s slick, no bloat, minimalistic and straightforward. This last iteration adds a more modern touch to it without sacrificing the simplicity…

Looking forward to it.
Keep it up.

1 Like

I’m a multimedia designer by profession and, while I might have dome a few things differently here and there, nothing bears mentioning more than to compliment your design team on a job well done so far. In my view, you guys have really managed to take the best ideas from your previous skin that were already popular with your install base and mature the overall appearance into a highly polished look & feel that can represent your branding with style.

Congrats all around and good luck moving forward.

Let us know what suggestions you have :slightly_smiling:

• I prefer the gradient based background
  • I prefer the photograph based background
  • I don’t mind either way

0 voters

Perhaps worth considering,add multiple skins.Darker,lighter or skins with more color effects,and give the user the option to choose by using for example an skin selector

I’d rather we do one skin well, but the option for themes does make sense in the future.