4K Buffering Issue on Vero 4K+

Firstly thanks for looking at my post. I must mention I have basically no knowledge of using the command line other than using iperf3 earlier to test my speed so please forgive my lack of OSMC knowledge.

I have a Vero 4K and a Vero 4K+ (as of today) and on both devices, when streaming 4K movies from my PC via NFS (Hanewin) & Powerline (Netgear AV1200) they continuously buffer and stutter and become unwatchable. I have been using Hanewin for many years on several devices and am confident it is performing as it should.

I did manage to test my speed using iPerf 3 and the results ranged between 91 - 104.

I have tested the 4K files using attached storage they all play perfectly.

1080P content streams perfectly using the network.

To eliminate the powerline as the culprit I have an eGreat a5 here so I reconnected it using the same ethernet cable as my 4K+, attached to the same NFS share and all my 4K movies stream perfectly so I’m a bit baffled baffled.

Could this be a buffering issue? Going back to last Autumn I could watch 4K movies on my Vero using the same setup without fault. Has the buffer size changed? Is that a possibility?

Sorry if this post is a bit all over the place.

Many thanks

I

Hi

Do I understand that you only experience the problem on your 4K, and not 4K +?

How is the NFS share mounted?

For 4K, you may need to use an fstab mount due to the lower network throughput.
Are you playing the same files as before? 4K UHD rips have become more demanding as of late.

Sam

Hi Sam and thanks for the reply. I have exactly the same problem on the 4K and the 4K plus. I bought the 4K plus hoping it would solve the issue ;).

I am using Hanewin on my PC as the NFS Server. I have done for many years now. The software is always updated to the latest version. My media files are all on an internal hard drive on my pc. I have 3 separate shares on Hanewin.

The one in question is;

e:\media\movies\4K -public -name:4K