DVD will not play despite correct codec

Hi all,
I have just installed OSMC on a new pi2. My intention was to set up an easy to use home media setup for a luddite relative.
I have license keys for Mpeg-2 content.
I have attached an external usb dvd drive to the pi and attempted to play a dvd.
This does not work. I can browse the dvd files, but whenever I attempt to access one of the IFO or VOB files nothing happens at all.
I am also completely unable to access any dvd menus.

Can anyone offer any help/advice?

Thanks for any assistance rendered.

I’m assuming it is a retail copy protected DVD. You will have to figure out how to install stuff like libdvdcss and probably other stuff.

Ah ok. Well I just dug out a DVD I burnt some years ago and know has no copy protection. It worked.
So libdvdcss…I’ll look that up and see what it is and how to use it.
Thanks for the tip Shadow.

I have absolutely no clue how to install libdvdcss.
I’ve looked at:

and

But I am a complete linux noob, and don’t understand what these threads are saying at all. What does it mean to compile a build with libdvdcss???
I don’t think a pi and OSMC were the correct choice for what I want to do here( media center that can also play dvd’s).

Standby, it’s coming.

Wouldn’t it bring you legal trouble if you ship it with the distribution?
I thought that’s why it is not supplied by default with handbrake etc.
Well, VLC seems to have it by default, so no clue.

No one has ever been taken to court over it with exception of the original writer.

S

I am encountering the same issue. While some DVDs are working some are not working. It would be nice if osmc was build with libdvdcss enable. The user could after download the needed package.

Please provide a kodi debug log made when trying to play a DVD that is not playing - it should be working, support for encrypted DVD’s is already built in, no need to add a separate libdvdcss library.