Soundbar and Vero 4K

dear all,

I recently purchased a soundbar and would need your advice on the best setup to enjoy DTS, etc.

Is there any recommended setup how to connect Vero 4K + TV + Soundbar? I’m not an audio expert and not sure what cable should be used with what device.

Also I enabled passthrough on the Vero 4K (left channels on 2.0) and enabled “Dts capable receiver”, currently the VERO is connected to the tv (Samsung) and the soundbar to the tv as well with hdmi arc.

Is this setup capable of providing the best sound on the soundbar from the Vero or do you have any other recommendation? should i adjust the channels or anything else?

thank you so much for everybody who is willing to help!

Start here

thanks Grahamn, this was super useful!

So I connected the VERO with hdmi to the tv and with optical to the ampifier (soundbar).

What I didn’t find is whether I should set the channels from the default 2.0 to something else? (e.g. 5.1 or 7.1, technically the soundbar should emulate that i think)

The other thing i don’t know is whether if i rely on the HDMI only to the the tv and from tv to the ampifier (soundbar), does it mean that the tv will “decode” the sound and push that decoded to the soundbar?

Thx again!

Hi,

This depends on whether the TV supports 7.1 input, most only support 2.0 when using pass-through.

Thanks Tom.

You cannot get 7.1 through optical. It will pass DD (AC-3) or plain DTS at best (ie 5.1 max).

Click through to the recommended settings Wiki and you will see that to get 5.1 you need to set channels = 2.0 and Enable Dolby Digital (AC3) transcoding. If your TV supports DD on HDMI (I think most modern TVs do although they may not say so in the specs) that should pass 5.1 encoded audio to the optical port. If your TV does not support DD on HDMI you will probably be limited to stereo. If so, consider connecting vero’s optical output to the soundbar.

HTH